Don’t fear the frost!

Modern Asphalt – low emission, low energy – high performance

Application

VISCOBIT is a viscosity modifying organic additive for the production of warm mix asphalt (WMA). VISCOBIT is based on polyethylene wax. It can be used in mastic asphalt as well as rolled asphalt. It is suitable for the production of ready-to-use binders (including PMB) and for the direct use in asphalt mixing plants or cookers.

Stable asphalt even at low temperatures

Our test series have shown that VISCOBIT, thanks to its special molecular structure, has no negative influence to the low temperature behaviour of warm mix asphalt.

VISCOBIT meets all requirements for a viscosity-modifying organic additive for warm mix asphalts.

This means the following advantages for the application:

Performance of VISCOBIT has been tested in binders and asphalt under various conditions.

Frequently Asked Questions

VISCOBIT has a specific molecular structure, which provides a good interconnection of the additive with the bitumen matrix. In opposite to some other viscosity modifying additives the cold temperature behaviour is therefore not impaired by VISCOBIT. With VISCOBIT, users achieve an increased plasticity range in the bitumen, especially in the direction of low temperatures.

The dosage of VISCOBIT depends on the quality of the used bitumen and the intended effects. Typically, the recommended dosage is between 2% and 3% related to Bitumen.

Yes, VISCOBIT can also be used in polymer modified bitumen. It is well compatible with bitumen, but also with the commonly used polymers and has a positive effect to polymer distribution and storage stability.

VISCOBIT is commercially available. VISCOBIT is supplied in PE bags of 25 kg each and 750 kg per pallet. Delivery in big bags of different sizes is possible on request.

VISCOBIT is supplied as free-flowing, dust-free fine grain with a medium particle size of approx. 0.5 mm. To bring the product into the mixing equipment, pneumatic conveying systems or suction weighing systems are suitable.

VISCOBIT should be stored dry in its original packaging at room temperature. Direct exposure to sunlight and water should be avoided. When stored according to this recommendation, VISCOBIT has no limited shelf life.

Yes, it’s called Viscobit AdPro and it’s a new bitumen additive based on a modified polyethylene wax. It has a particularly good performance in improving deformation resistance, but additionally it has a positive influence to the adhesion to aggregates. It is also suitable for PMB.

Ask us about…

Please contact us. We will get back to you shortly by e-mail.

Uwe Schnabel

Senior Sales Manager

About Innospec Leuna

Ethylen is our base product. Our products are polymerised under high pressure at about 2,000 bar. We manufacture waxes and other specialised products such as cold flow improver for freezing temperatures.

Since 2004 Innospec Leuna belongs to the globally active Innospec Group, which is focussed on chemical additives for a wide range of applications. In Leuna we achieve a turnover of approx. 50 M. €, with 110 highly motivated employees. Our customers benefit from our high flexibility, high quality standards, individual oriented- application consultation as well as competitive conditions.

We are certified:

Request a Sample

Test our product. After submitting your request, we will promptly send a product sample to you.

Winfried Hommel

Product Manager Polymers

Now
Available

Viscobit AdPro

… is a new bitumen additive based on a modified polyethylene wax. It has a particularly good performance in improving deformation resistance, but additionally it has a positive influence to the adhesion to aggregates. It is also suitable for PMB.

Don't fear the frost!

Das Additiv für Asphalt

by

Einsatzbereiche

VISCOBIT ist ein viskositätsveränderndes Bitumenadditiv auf Basis von Polyethylenwachs. Seinen Einsatz findet VISCOBIT in Guss- als auch in Walzasphalt. Viscobit eignet sich zur Herstellung gebrauchsfertiger Bindemittel nach E KvB (auf Basis von Straßenbaubitumen sowie auf Basis polymermodifizierter Bitumen). Dabei besteht die Möglichkeit, Erzeugnisse der Klasse VL zu produzieren.

Beim Anmischen von temperaturabgesenkten Asphalten kann VISCOBIT auch direkt in die Asphaltmischanlagen gegeben werden.

Stabiler Asphalt auch bei kalten Temperaturen

Unsere Testreihen ergaben: Dank seiner speziellen molekularen Struktur hat Viscobit keinen negativen Einfluss auf das Kälteverhalten temperaturabgesenkten Asphalts.

VISCOBIT erfüllt alle Anforderungen an einen viskositätsverändernden organischen Zusatz für temperaturabgesenkte Asphalte. Die Vorteile sind:

Die Leistungsfähigkeit von VISCOBIT wurde sowohl in Bindemitteln als auch in Asphalt unter verschiedenen Bedingungen getestet.

Häufige Fragen

Die spezifische molekulare Struktur von VISCOBIT sichert eine gute Verankerung des Wachses im Bitumen. Das führt zu einer vergleichsweise verbesserten Kältestabilität des temperaturabgesenkten Asphaltes — im Verhältnis zu einigen anderen organischen, viskositätsverändernden Zusätzen. Mit VISCOBIT erreichen Anwender eine größere Plastizitätsspanne im Bitumen, vor allem in Richtung tiefer Temperaturen.

Die Dosierung von VISCOBIT hängt von der Qualität des eingesetzten Bitumens und der zur erzielenden Temperaturabsenkung ab. Die typische empfohlene Dosis liegt, bezogen auf das Bitumen, zwischen 2% und 3%.

Ja, VISCOBIT kann auch in polymermodifizierten Bitumen eingesetzt werden. Es ist gut kompatibel mit Bitumen, aber auch mit den üblicherweise eingesetzten Polymeren und kann sogar einen positiven Effekt auf die Polymerverteilung und Lagerstabilität haben.

VISCOBIT ist kommerziell verfügbar. VISCOBIT wird in PE-Säcken á 25kg palettiert und zu je 750 kg pro Palette geliefert. Die Lieferung in Big Bags unterschiedlicher Größe ist auf Anfrage möglich.

VISCOBIT wird als frei fließendes, staubfreies Feingranulat mit einer mittleren Partikelgröße von ca. 0,5 mm geliefert. Das Produkt kann mittels pneumatischen Fördersystemen bzw. Saug-Wiege-Systemen gefördert werden.

VISCOBIT soll möglichst in der Originalverpackung bei Raumtemperatur trocken gelagert werden. Direkte Einwirkung von Sonnenstrahlung und Wasser sind zu vermeiden. Bei Lagerung gemäß dieser Empfehlung ist VISCOBIT unbegrenzt haltbar.

Ja, diese trägt den Namen Viscobit AdPro und ist ein neues Bitumenadditiv auf Basis eines modifizierten Polyethylenwachses. Es zeigt nicht nur einen besonders positiven Einfluss auf die Deformationsbeständigkeit, sondern zusätzlich auch eine Verbesserung der Gesteinshaftung. Es ist auch für die Anwendung in PMB geeignet.

Fragen Sie uns

Zögern Sie nicht, uns zu kontaktieren. Wir melden uns innerhalb von wenigen Werktagen per E-Mail bei Ihnen zurück.

Uwe Schnabel

Senior Sales Manager

Über Innospec Leuna

Ethylen ist unsere Basis. Mit Hochdruck, also mit 2.000 bar, polymerisieren wir. Damit produzieren wir Wachse und andere Spezialprodukte wie Dieseladditive für frostige Temperaturen.

Seit 2004 gehört Innospec Leuna zur weltweiten Innospec Gruppe, die auf chemische Additive für verschiedene Anwendungen fokussiert ist. In Leuna erarbeiten wir mit 110 Mitarbeitern einen Umsatz von gut 50 Mio.€. Unsere Kunden profitieren von unserer Flexibilität, den hohen Qualitätsstandards, einer guten anwendungsbezogenen Beratung sowie wettbewerbsfähigen Konditionen.

Wir sind zertifizert nach:

Muster anfordern

Testen Sie unser Produkt selbst. Nach Absenden Ihrer Anfrage lassen wir Ihnen innerhalb von 10 Werktagen ein Muster von Viscobit zukommen.

Winfried Hommel

Product Manager Polymers

Jetzt erhältlich

Viscobit AdPro

… ist ein neues Bitumenadditiv auf Basis eines modifizierten Polyethylenwachses. Es zeigt nicht nur einen besonders positiven Einfluss auf die Deformationsbeständigkeit, sondern zusätzlich auch eine Verbesserung der Gesteinshaftung. Es ist auch für die Anwendung in PMB geeignet.